Kitchen Gadgets old and new – what I love or am thinking of getting

Ah kitchen gadgets! Many say, come the new year, out with the old and in with the new. But, I can’t bring myself to do that with most of my gadgets. This post (deviating from the last 3 go to recipe craze!) is here to ask your opinion. I love some of my gadgets, but there are some new ones I’ve been thinking of including into my collection.

The first gadget that I love is my peeler. I know, right, a peeler can do just about anything. Yes, yes, it can peel vegetables and fruit in a cinch, but I love using mine to slice cheese. You get these amazing curls or shavings.

My next favourite gadget has to be my whisk. I will use any excuse to use it. Though, I’d rather beat egg whites with my electric beater, for odd jobs around the kitchen, the whisk is a great life saver!

My other favourite gadget is my fork. And not just any fork – my big fork! I absolutely love it. I use it for poking things, beating things (it often wins out over my whisk). It does take longer, but I find nothing more satisfying than stretching out in front of the television, some batter in hand incorporating away.

Now I’ve been think about two main things to add to my collection. The first is silicone bakeware. I know that it has many benefits (health and otherwise), but wonder if any of you use it? Do you like it?

The second thing was a stand mixer. I know that these run pretty expensive, but feel as though an aspiring baker ought to have one. What do you think? Do you have one?

Also, what are your favourite gadgets in the kitchen? Share away!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather Tullos
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 14:01:04

    Pizza Stone. Accompanied by a pizza peel (because without the peel you will ruin your pizza trying to get it on the stone!). Inexpensive and awesome for baking all sorts of things, not just pizza. I am desperately coveting a food processor. I don’t have a stand mixer– would LOVE a Kitchen-Aid– but they are pricey. Also, as someone who has done plenty of baking in commercial kitchens, stand mixers make it so easy to wander off… and before you know it you’ve over mixed. Maybe I just need to work on my attention span. Silicone bakeware is infinitely amazing. Hope this helps!

    Reply

    • simplyfoodtales
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 14:52:36

      Thanks, Heather, this definitely helps. Due to some accidental accidents in the kitchen (involving fire sometimes), I have learned never to walk away from my gadgets as long as they’re plugged in.
      A food processor can run from anywhere from 15 dollars to upwards of 150. I have a 15 dollar one, and the Magic Bullet, and I find that they tend to fit my needs. As much as I would love a stand mixer, I think I’d get similar results and more with the Bullet Express. So for this year’s major buy, I must decide between those two, since I think a Keurig would be a frivolous buy…

      Reply

Leave a Reply, Question or Comment in general!

Pages

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 995 foodies have come here!
