Burgers with a crunch! – Okay, not really, but there are pictures and they are awesome!

Okay, so I’ve decided to change up the order that I was going to post my go to recipes. Today’s recipe is a meatless main. Curried Lentil Nut burgers – sounds great doesn’t it? I was sceptical I admit – though I am trying to incorporate more vegetables into my diet, it still worried me to actually make a burger out of vegetables. Maybe it’s because commercially they can’t do it very well. I’ve had soy burgers but they taste bland and some even have actual vegetables that you can see?! I know! It’s an outrage! But Kary from CBC’s best recipes ever made them and I have faith in her – since the recipes are actually ‘tested till perfect’. So first of all, here is the original recipe as found on their recipe page: http://www.cbc.ca/bestrecipes/2011/10/curried-lentil-cashew-burger.html . Click on the link to see it. What I’m going to actually post is my variation of it, and one that worked just as well.

 

½ cup almonds

2 tbsp. oil

4 cups chopped vegetables

1 onion, chopped

1 tbsp. garlic and ginger – each

1 can green/brown/whatever lentils you can get in a can (540ml)

1 cup fine semolina + more for coating

1 tbsp. curry powder

1 tsp. or more chilli powder

2 tsp. cumin powder

Salt and pepper to taste

Toppings

Burger buns

 

First of all, Kary says that this recipe yields 4 burgers. I think there is either a slight discrepancy there or her burgers were just very thick. I got 9 burgers out of this – it could’ve been 10 but there were two really large ones. Other than that, I followed most of the recipe as she stated.

Instead of cashews (pricey!), and because I’m too lazy to crack walnuts open, I used almonds. The other thing I suggest is that you use whichever vegetables you like. Chop them or leave them. The only thing is that they must be of equal size.

So first thing’s first. Line a baking dish with parchment – or grease, whatever. In a bowl toss the vegetables with the 2 tablespoons of oil. Add the vegetables to the dish, and bake for 30 minutes on 350. This time is tentative. For example, if you use potatoes, it will probably take longer than say mushrooms or peppers (I used these in addition to eggplant). This is probably good to mention now – use whatever vegetables you have on hand, don’t go out buying stuff.

Once the vegetables are cooked – and they should be really mushy – like serious, like mash. Throw them into a food processor and puree. Also puree the lentils. Finally, toast the almonds or whichever nuts you’re using (I’m sure even peanuts would work well), and ground those finely.

Now comes the slightly tricky part. In a bowl you add all of the pureed mash and the spices. How on earth are you going to make burgers out of this, you ask? Well you can’t. What?! But I said that this was burger recipes – not a baby food recipe! Relax. Working with only a half cup at first add your binding agent. I used semolina because that’s what I had on hand but you can use breadcrumbs. Add them, and mix it well. Add more if needed. Mix. Now add more if you still need it. You’ve added enough when it feels like a soft dough. A good test is to take about 1/3 cup of it, and try to shape it into a burger. If it completely falls apart add more. Remember, it isn’t going to be like meat mince, so don’t expect it to shape like that.

Once that’s done, heat a pan with oil at the bottom. Fry until it is golden on both sides. Remember, everything is cooked, so there’s no worry about that. Serve immediately as you would burgers or reheat them in the oven to recrispify. I think I’ve invented a word. Enjoy!

 

(Below, the uncooked and cooked burgers)

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. foodrefashionista
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 02:20:13

    Hi, Thanks for visiting my blog, and I’m going to try these vegetarian burgers or a variation thereof. And I hope you enjoy the bean bake!

    Reply

  2. theripebanana
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 06:41:39

    I can tell already that I am going to enjoy your blog. I love the “use whatever you have on hand” method and the “add a dash of this and a pinch of that” measuring technique. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Molly
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 01:24:35

    This so makes me wish I had a food processor! Dang it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply, Question or Comment in general!

Pages

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 995 foodies have come here!
