Salted Caramel Chocolate baked porridge

Sounds delectable doesn’t it? It is. So Salted Caramel Chocolate Baked Porridge is the second of my go to recipes. I am proud to say that I invented this one. I was out of white milk and in the mood for porridge. For some reason, I always have packets as well as jars full of oats in all kinds of flavours. I think they add wonderfully to a cookie, cake or muffin. They are perfect in my everything cookies. I need to post the recipe for that too don’t I? Well, one thing at a time.

So I was skeptical as to how porridge using chocolate milk would turn out. No worries though, since it was amazing. Anyway, you first start with instant oats. Add the same amount of milk you normally do, but add chocolate milk instead. Oh, do this in an oven safe dish. Now, here comes the important part! Add 1/4 tsp of salt for every serving. Who adds salt to chocolate you ask? I do! I’ve been adding salt to anything chocolate, baked or otherwise ever since a fateful Modern Family episode. For those of you who don’t know what Modern Family is, OMG, OMG, email me! FAST! You cannot afford to miss the best sitcom in years. For those of you who faithfully watch all the episodes, I’m referring to the first episode from season 1. It’s called the station wagon episode but it includes chocolate milk. And salt.

Now that I have shamelessly self indulged my promotion of what I believe to be the best show since Friends (seriously!), I shall continue on. While you’re getting this ready, get the oven nice and hot to 350 degrees. Next, add two caramels on top of every serving. Put it into the oven for about 10 minutes and wait for it to get all bubbly and the caramels melted. Take it out of the oven, and put another 1/8 tsp of salt on top (you can skip this if you like). And enjoy! Oh and I feel like a coffee cup – “CAUTION! CONTENTS ARE HOT”. There you go. Stay tuned for recipe three – breakfast, lunch and dinner eggs. Talk soon!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. oozingink
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 19:40:30

    This sounds wonderful! You really should add some photos of the food your making. Would be great to see it too 🙂

    Reply

    • simplyfoodtales
      Jan 21, 2012 @ 23:09:54

      I’ll be sure to remember. It’s just that many times I forget to take the picture and don’t think the one bite left on the plate is very appetizing to take a picture of. But, duly noted. Unfortunately, the next go to recipe doesn’t have a picture, but who knows, maybe I’ll switch things around and give you a recipe tonight that has a picture. Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply, Question or Comment in general!

Pages

January 2012
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 993 foodies have come here!
