Nail biters give thanks!

So, over the last few years, I used to bite my nails continuously. It began with anxiety and ended with unseemly fingernails. Something sparked in me in about April. I needed to grow them – I found that nail polish kept me from biting. It pleased me. Now comes October. Thanksgiving. Big dinner. Sides of course include anxiety, potatoes, Brussels sprouts, and nervousness galore. However, I’m determined not to let that happen. The turkey is in the fridge, basting itself for tmr. The beans are snipped and cut into bite sized pieces. The cranberry sauce is in the can. The sprouts are pruned. The stuffing too is ready to go. I should be fine right? Wrong! I’m still worrying. About what you ask? I haven’t the faintest idea. But writing does help me relax, so I thought I’d get my favourite thanksgiving recipes down for you in case you’re even more unprepared than moi!

 

And remember this is thanksgiving dinner – customize it to yourself. I use an abnormal amount of butter, but you can use as little or as much as you like.

 

Tender turkey

 

Lol, odd name yes? Being an English teacher, and in the future an educator, I don’t wish to plagiarise. The turkey has been smothered. In what you ask? About 1 cup of butter is melted, infused with a teaspoon each of rosemary, tarragon, marjoram, and oregano. I also added salt and pepper to taste. And now for the most important ingredient. Fresh. Chopped. Garlic. Don’t skip. You’ll have to cook it until it is well done.

 

Brussels sprouts

 

I found this recipe a few years back – I’m trying to find the link for you, but I can’t find it at the moment. First, make sure the sprouts are properly trimmed. Take off any questionable looking leaves. Then in a bowl add a tablespoon of baking soda and fill the bowl halfway with water. Add the sprouts and leave for 10 minutes. This should help clean them. Next, slice each one lengthwise in half. You can skip this if your sprouts are unusually small. Next heat a pan and add two tablespoons of butter. Add one cup sliced mushrooms. When it begins to wilt, add the sprouts. Cook till tender. Add one tablespoon of strong, good quality Dijon mustard. Add salt and pepper to taste.

 

Roasted potatoes

 

For this, use any small potato. Fingerling which is a newish potato makes a good choice, or mini new or red potatoes are just as yummy. Wash them thoroughly whether you leave the skins on or not. Cut them into pieces or not. In a bowl, toss the potatoes with oil (olive, salad, or regular; your choice). Add salt and pepper to taste, along with your favourite herbs. However, while you can add dry or fresh herbs for the turkey, this one needs only fresh herbs. Add spices if you wish – I’m adding a teaspoon each of chilli and cumin powder. Spread them on a baking sheet and cook on 400F until tender.  I actually have a bottle of sweet pickled onions, not sure if I’ll use it in this yet.

 

French beans with almonds

 

Trim the ends of your beans. In a hot pan with butter, sauté one onion and then when softened do the beans. Add salt and pepper. When they’re done (and this is complete up to you – they can be as tender or crunchy as you like), add a handful or two of toasted sliced almonds. Toss and serve. My company doesn’t eat pork, but if you have crumbled bacon that’s even better. And if you crisp the bacon first, you can cook the onions and beans in them.

 

Stuffing

 

The main stuffing comes from the Stovetop packs, which is bread stuffing with cranberries. In a separate pan while you make the bread stuffing, cook a cup of chopped livers with salt, pepper and your favourite spices (for this one I’m using chilli, cumin and turmeric powder). Don’t overcook them. When they’re done add it to the bread stuffing, and mix carefully so it combines but not enough that you mush the livers. For this, you can leave out the livers and add whatever you like – for example, you can use pork or chicken or nothing at all.

 

So those are the recipes I’m making tomorrow. Or at least hoping to – they can be as complicated or simple as you want them to be. Suit them to your tastes. I will add pictures when I have them, but in the meantime, if you’re confused, please ask your questions. Happy Thanksgiving.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. littlepinkcupcakes
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 04:34:35

    Oh my that sounds like a yummy thanksgiving meal! How did it all turn out?

    Reply

Leave a Reply, Question or Comment in general!

Pages

October 2011
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 995 foodies have come here!
