No Inspired Quill

A note on the title: As in a previous post, you’re aware of my Harry Potter obsession. Inspired Quills is a Harry Potter RPG site that prides itself on quality roleplaying that I am a part of. This site really helps anyone with their writing and you can meet like-minded Harry Potter fans. Have a look: www.inspired-quills.com .

I’ve been wondering to myself – why aren’t I posting anymore? I cook just as often. I’m not too busy to write a post once a week. I just wasn’t inspired. While I haven’t lost my interest in cooking, I’d lost my interest in posting. I was making the same recipes, or something I’d make once in a while, there wasn’t a balance. I needed to find recipes that were different enough to keep me interested, but that I would make a second time; after all, no matter how many times a recipe has been made, it will not be perfect as everyone’s perception of perfection is different. Then about a month ago, one of my friends was going off to college. She is like my best friend so naturally when she asked if I’d be restarting my blog, I said yes. I lied. I would search through different recipes I had at home, but still no inspiration.

Then a month ago it happened. I have always been a fan of the website, www.allrecipes.com . Many times I use the website to find different versions of whatever I want to cook. This time though I wasn’t really looking for any recipe in particular – just something new. The website also has a really very handy tool called ‘My Recipe Box’. Any recipe you like, you can favourite and then that is put into your recipe box. So I got an idea – finally, I know. Anyway, I thought, why not make these recipes? If you’ll visit the site, you’ll notice that the site’s recipes are donated by users. While this is a great blessing (I’ve found a recipe for trifle so perfect, every time I think of it, I have to make it). On the other hand, it’s perfectly possible for these recipes to come out completely horrible (as I’ve also learned in the past). There’s a perfectly sound solution to this. Most recipes have many reviews by the people who have made them. So then, what if I took these recipes, and made them by taking these reviews into account? Okay, so maybe it doesn’t sound exciting to you, but it sure amuses me. I am tickled easily. Anyway, to start!

The first recipe originally can be found here: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/rosemary-and-lamb-crispy-roast-potatoes/detail.aspx . In case you’re too lazy to actually click on the link, I’ve posted the recipe here as well.

Rosemary and Lamb Crispy Roast Potatoes

Ingredients

  • 4 large baking potatoes, peeled and quartered
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 1/2 cup lamb roast drippings, cooled to room temperature
  • salt to taste

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C). Place the potatoes in a large pan and fill with enough water to cover. Bring to a boil and cook for about 10 minutes, just cooking partially.
  2. Place the potatoes into a large lidded tub and pour in the lamb drippings. Season with rosemary and salt. Close the lid and shake to coat the potatoes. Pour them out onto a baking sheet.
  3. Bake for 45 minutes in the preheated oven, or until dark brown and crispy.

Nutritional Information

Amount Per Serving  Calories: 352 | Total Fat: 1.9g | Cholesterol: 35mg

Now, the ratings in general, gave the following reviews: The potato recipe itself is a good but there isn’t much lamb flavour.

So in terms of the ingredients, how to get an intense lamb flavour? I had a few initial ideas, but wasn’t sure how they’d turn out. The problem in my opinion was quite simple. Just by tossing the potatoes in the lamb drippings they weren’t doing much. By the time you put them on the baking sheet there isn’t much left there. So I wondered, what if I used bullion cubes? Of course, I didn’t have lamb so I used chicken. That didn’t turn out well. The chicken flavour was too strong, the saltiness too much and the chicken flavour overpowering. The matter seemed simple if I had to revert to the liquid stock again. The key would be to get a more flavourful stock. So for the better stock, I started with some sautéed onions, and mushroom. I added the rosemary, to the mix. Then I added the lamb drippings, scraping the pan, and adding little by little until it was absorbed by the vegetables. The mix should resemble a type of mushiness, but don’t worry if it doesn’t. It then goes into a food processor (my favourite is the Magic Bullet), and becomes a paste. Then, peel and chop the potatoes into large chunks. Prick them all over. Marinade in the paste and refrigerate overnight. Then bake it in the oven till properly roasted. This will take longer but the lamb flavour is soooo much more, well there… Okay, enjoy! Until next time foodies!

Leave a Reply, Question or Comment in general!

Pages

September 2011
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Oct »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 995 foodies have come here!
