Hermione’s Roast Pike

So, a quick explanation for my title should help. I am an absolute Harry Potter fanatic. This reference comes from the final book. Hermione tries her hand at cooking and needless to say, not having acquired enough magical cooking knowledge, it turns out horribly. I had an experience like that last week. I was trying to make some sort of Chinese beef, but it turned out badly. While I could spend the majority of this post describing this failure, I find that it might just be a waste of your time. Instead, I will refer back to the recipe as I give you a tweaked one of mine.

Easy Chinese chicken with gingery noodles

Ingredients

For the chicken

1 pound of chicken chopped into bite sized pieces*

½ cup hoisin sauce

¼ cup soy sauce**

1 each chopped green and red bell pepper

1 onion chopped coarsely***

1 tbsp. chopped garlic

2 scallions sliced****

2 tsp. Chinese five spice powder*****

Oil as needed

Notes:

* Originally, this recipe called for beef. However, I found that the beef turned out too hard. The second time around, I used chicken breast cut up. It cut my cooking time in half. It cooked a lot faster and was very quick to prepare since I didn’t have to flatten it.

** This recipe didn’t call for this, but I found that it was a welcoming addition. However, if you want to control the salt, use the actual ingredient; it won’t have any effect on the colour or major effect on the flavour of the dish

*** Once again, it didn’t call for this but I found that this added some nice colour to the dish. While the pieces of onion can be big (and yes, you’ll cry less that way), make sure you separate the layers.

**** I’m not sure how I feel about this. Again, with the beef, this made me crinkle my nose; it was too pungent. However, when I used it with chicken, I added a little at a time, and it was just fine…

Method

  1. Heat about a tbsp. of oil in a wok.
  2. Add garlic, and sauté for 2 minutes
  3. Add chicken. Stir occasionally and cook until no longer pink.
  4. Add half of the veggies (except for the onions; add all of those) and cook for 2-3 minutes. Cook it longer if you wish. However, I cannot stand mushy vegetables and prefer them crunchy.
  5. Add five spice and toss to coat.
  6. Add sauces and bring to a boil. Taste; if you want it sweeter, and a teaspoon of brown sugar.

For the noodles

1 pkt fresh or dried egg noodles

1 tbsp. ginger paste

2 tbsp. soy sauce

The other half of the veggies that you prepared for the chicken

Method

  1. Prepare noodles according to package directions.
  2. Drain and set aside.
  3. Heat 1 tbsp. oil in a pan or pot.
  4. Add ginger and sauté for 2 minutes.
  5. Add veggies and sauté for 3 minutes. Same note as above.
  6. Add noodles and soy sauce. Toss it all together.
  7. Serve chicken over noodles.

This should serve 4-6 people. The noodles by themselves and a white sauce make an excellent leftover dish when baked. So what did you think? Any differences you made to the dish? I’m not sure if I was supposed to clarify this earlier, but please feel free to leave any comments – complimentary or critical. I will get back to you as soon as I can.

Some Pictures

This is the chicken

 

The Ginger Noodles

 

Leave a Reply, Question or Comment in general!

Pages

February 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Apr »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28  

Top Rated

Blog Stats

  • 992 foodies have come here!
